ELEMEN'TERRE

Pen-Duick VI

A symbol of sailing in French people's hearts and minds

Pen-Duick VI is a legend in the world of ocean racing. A steel colossus of 22 metres and 33 tonnes. Designed in 1973 by Marseille architect André Mauric for the first ever Whitbread, a perilous around-the-world race, the boat showed marvellous potential but was unfortunately forced to retire after breaking her mast twice. From 1973 to 1977, the boat took part in all great offshore races with the likes of Kersauson, Pajot, Coste, Titouan Lamazou, Poupon, Le Cam and other greats onboard.

 

In 1976 Eric Tabarly decided to compete in the Single Handed Ocean Race, which he had already won in 1964. There was no way of building a new design in time so he decided to use Pen-Duick VI. Few people had confidence in the idea. Having been designed for a crew of 14,  handling her was physically challenging and required many hands on deck. Attempting to solo race her from Plymouth to Newport was life-threatening.

After sailing through 5 weather depressions in a row, experiencing an auto-pilot breakdown, and spending sleepless nights contemplating giving up due to extreme setbacks and exhaustion, Eric began to believe the worst as well, but to everyone’s surprise it was he-after two weeks of radio silence-who crossed the finish line first on the 23rd day. Neither the committee nor the journalists were there to witness it, not even his family, as nobody had known where he had been. He too had lost his bearings.

 

Following this victory, Pen-Duick VI took part in a few other races, but the evolution of hulls and the technological development of racing boats soon made her performance obsolete. She then started a new stage in her life as a charter vessel for expedition yachting. For 15 years now Pen-Duick VI has crisscrossed the world from Greenland to Patagonia via Brazil and the West Indies. To date, she has sailed the equivalent of 14 times around the globe.

My mother Jacqueline and I are still her owners. For me, this journey will be a marvellous opportunity to meet once more all those who contributed to her history, as this boat has left memories all over the world!

ELEMEN'TERRE

Pen-Duick VI

Le symbole de la voile dans le coeur des Français

Pen-Duick VI est une référence dans le monde de la course au large. Un mastodonte d’acier de 22m pesant 33 T. Conçu en 1973 par l’architecte marseillais André Mauric pour un tour du monde en équipage avec escale, la première Whitbread de 1973, le  bateau montra un potentiel hors normes, mais y cassa par deux fois son mat. De 1973 à 1977, le bateau courut toutes les grandes courses au large, avec à son bord Kersauson, Pajot, Coste, Titouan Lamazou, Poupon, Le Cam et d’autres.

En 1976, faute de temps pour concevoir et construire un nouveau bateau, Eric Tabarly décida de courir la Transat Anglaise, celle qu’il avait déjà gagnée en 1964, mais cette fois-ci à bord de Pen-Duick VI. Peu de monde croyait en cette idée. Le bateau était conçu pour un équipage de 14 personnes, il est physique, les manœuvres sont longues, les voiles lourdes, or la Transat Anglaise se court en solitaire, de Plymouth à Newport.

Après avoir essuyé 5 dépressions à la suite, eu une rupture de pilote automatique, après s’être mis une nuit à la cape et avoir songé à abandonner à cause de la difficulté et de la fatigue, à la surprise général, au matin du 23 ème jour de course, Eric Tabarly, dont le monde était sans nouvelles depuis plus de deux semaines, franchit la ligne d’arrivée en tête à Newport. Ni comité de course, ni journalistes, ni famille à son arrivée, personne ne savait où il était. Lui même ne savait pas qu’il était le premier !

Suite à ses différentes victoire, le bateau a attaqué une nouvelle tranche de vie : emmener des hommes découvrir la planète. Pendant 15 ans, Pen-Duick VI fera de la croisière autour du monde en charter,  du Groenland en Patagonie, en passant par le Brésil et les Antilles. Il compte à ce jour l’équivalent de 14 tours du monde.

Ma mère Jacqueline et moi même en sommes toujours les gardiennes. Ce voyage sera pour moi une belle occasion de retrouver tout ceux qui ont participé à son histoire, car ce bateau a laissé des souvenirs partout autour du monde !